Another set back

I got back into the swing of things now that school has started.  Hitting the gym, on the treadmill.  However, with each day that I walked, my right knee got sorer and sorer.  I could hardly walk on it last wed. after I walked.

Finally went to the Dr. on Friday, and the knee is full of arthritis.

I am on some drugs to take away the inflammation, but if it doesn’t get better, I’m off to another Dr. for an MRI.

I’m pretty discouraged and everything tastes good.

11 Comments

Filed under "Head" issues, Life change, Weight Loss

11 responses to “Another set back

  1. Beth

    Oh Doug – I’m so sorry. I know exactly what you are going through. I started working out in Nov., had a bad, very swollen knee. When to doc., had physical theraphy and ended up with an MRI (arthritis was found). I had a scope in June and am now almost fully recovered and doing great!

    I also started taking Hyaluronic acid per my Mom’s advise. It is basically called “joint juice” and is like motor oil for your joints. You naturally make this in your body….until you get older, then it stops and the hyaluronic acid starts breaking down. If I have more knee problems my orth. surgeon is going to be giving me a series of hyaluronic acid injections into my knee.

    Hang in there buddy – I feel your pain and frustration.

    Prayers and hugs,
    Beth

  2. Doug,
    As you know from following my blog over these past months I have been venturing away from christian models and into other models, so my comments here are not “christian”.
    That said, I will not say I feel sorry for you because to do so is giving this knee the label of bad and negative. Is that really how you want to label and think of your knee? I say to your knee “be blessed!” because that is what you are. I know you don’t have the faith to believe you are completely well so don’t bother kidding yourself with false statements that you know are not true. But you do have enough faith for a smaller goal. “My knee will be a bit better this time next week because I believe it to be so.”
    But my biggest thought I wish to share with you is that we attract what we fear. You seem to have more than your fair share of health issues in your family and I believe (although I am perfectly aware that this will be hard for you to hear) that these illnesses are to some measure brought on by your own fear of illness. However, it must also be said that when one of you falls ill, that simply means one of you has fallen ill. However, when you label it bad and discouraging and a set back that is the reality you create for that illness, and those labels you give come from an underlying sponsoring thought of fear. There is only one cure for fear, and that is love. Think again! Create new realities with sponsoring thoughts of love.
    Feel free to delete this comment (but please at least read it carefully!). If I didn’t care, I wouldn’t bother writing.
    Jon

  3. Dan

    What kind of CRAP is that?? “My knee will be better because I believe it to be so?” Hey Doug — tell the doctors your knee really doesn’t have arthritis or fluid on it — it just IS. It’s not painful or sore — it just IS. I wish you would stop putting labels on your illnesses. It’s because of you and your silly comment that this is a “set back” that makes your knee hurt, doesn’t that make you feel better?

    Let’s follow that logic . . . my bank accounts will be bigger because I believe them to be so; I will be able to see better, and not need glasses, because I believe it to be so; I’m sorry officer, I didn’t realize I was going 50 mph in a school zone because I believed I was really going 20. OJ Simpson just got arrested and put in jail for armed robbery – but he believes he was just getting things back that belonged to him in the first place. Those stupid police should have asked what his reality was before they went and arrested him again.

    And I really like the implication that Doug’s health issues are some sort of self-fulfilling prophesy. I don’t believe my niece had a deep rooted fear of having diabetes, yet she does. I don’t believe my uncle had a fear of being in an automobile accident when he was 11, and spending the next 55 years in a wheelchair, but he did and he is. And no amount of your “if we think it, it will be so” will help him walk again. If we attract what we fear, should I stop locking my doors at night? Because by your logic, I’m due for a break-in any day now.

    One last comment — how do we create these “new realities?” Oh that’s right, by “thinking thoughts of love.” I saw a movie one time about a guy who thought he could get a bunch of kids to play a piece of music they have never seen before on band instruments they have never played just by “thinking about the melody.” Guess what, it didn’t work.

    Jon, there is no “new reality.” And we cannot create any.

    There is nothing new under the sun.

  4. Beth

    Dan – I agree. I think Jon read The Secret one too many times.

  5. Jon –
    Definately a different direction than I’m used to taking, but since I read your comment early this morning, there are some things that I’ll take from you, but will probably use different words to describe them. Based on your past Christianity, they will probably make you a bit ill. Not my intention, just the consequences of the differences in our journey.

    I will confess that in the past, and even now to a certain extent, I’ve used injury or illness as an excuse to avoid that which I do not like; exercise, eating correctly, etc. There is a certain level of truth in that even now. If I don’t exercise and gain weight, then I can use the “bad” knee as an excuse.

    What if perhaps I use this “injury” as a way to discover a form of exercise that I have never really enjoyed, like swimming. I have always said that I hate swimming, but if I’m really honest about it, it has more to do with my being self conscious about being overweight with my shirt off, than it does swimming. It also has to do with what others will think of me with my shirt off. My “reality” is one of riducule and mocking, which is actually in my own head. I don’t know it to be real, I’m assuming it to be real.

    I might actually enjoy swimming. So if I look at the knee as just a knee that hurts, and find a way to exercise that doesn’t stress it, then the knee injury is something that just “is”.

    My therapist once told me to “choose my mood”. I can choose to be sad and unhappy while at work, or I can choose to look at it as opportunity. It’s just often easier to complain than it is to actually fess up to what is really going on.

    I’m purposely avoiding your comments on faith, because you and I are far apart on this issue.

    The fact of the matter is, I’m still very over weight, and knee pain or not, I still need to move forward towards my goal of being healthier and happier.

  6. Doug,
    I wish you all the best. (I’ve also learnt not to post on any christian blogs.)
    Jon

  7. Brenda

    Hang in there Doug. Focus on upper body and abdomen. I agree that swimming would be a good option. See what happens when you turn 40???

  8. twolimeleaves

    Hi Doug
    You have my empathy! While Jon F is as thin as a twig, I am not (even though we share genes!). I can relate to much of what you wrote here (oh OUCH to the swimming remark). Regardless of what we consider the cause of illness/pain to be, the result is still unpleasant and I hope you are able to find relief.

    Kirsty
    ps I love the exposed top lip 🙂 and the green hair is doing it for me, too.

  9. Hi Doug,
    I received a very sincere apology from Dan re: his comment above in which he admits he went in a bit too hard. Apology fully accepted, and I respect him all the more not only for passionately defending you against what he believes to be dumb ideas (that makes him a good friend) but also having the humilty to apologise to me (that makes him a good man). All good.
    Jon

  10. 2LL – Thanks so much!! As far as the green hair goes, that’s a bit far for me to walk, although I’m not beyond exposing my upper lip at some point. We know from my previous comments my fear of “exposure”. :^)

    Jon – Dan is my biggest supporter, encourager, and friend just after my wife. He is the one who is on the treadmill with me each morning at 5:30 am. He is also a wonderful Christ following man, husband and father. I’m not at all surprised that he came to you. That’s why I have him in my life.

    On another note to all, the knee is feeling a bit better. There are a number of things that I could give credit for the recovery. It could be the drugs the Dr. gave me. It could be my attempted change in attitude that Jon has suggested, or it could be the prayers that have been lifted up on my behalf (there’s nothing like having your 6 year old pray specifically for you before she goes to bed).

    Whatever the reason, I’ve received some great encouragement and support from you guys, and I really appreciate it.

    Thanks!!!

  11. Doug –
    First, a belated (less than a month though) happy 40th. Second, doesn’t getting old suck? I find myself commiserating with my car lately. Just paid it off after five years. The week I paid it off, the engine light went on. Yes, now begins the slow process of everything on it breaking down (and costing $1000 per mechanic visit to fix). With the wisdom of increasing years, comes the pain from just about everything you try to do.

    Don’t let it discourage you from fighting the bulge. I’m in that fight, too. The better we do, the better we will ultimately feel.

    But for a true perspective on what matters in life, I found myself tearing up at this article in our paper this morning: http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/07262/818671-298.stm?cmpid=MOSTEMAILEDBOX

Leave a Reply

