Is it possible……

to be good at something, perhaps very good at it, based upon your own experience, and the words of people that you trust.  I mean, you’re told that you do a GREAT job.  You’re told that you’re unique in you’re approach, and that the results you achieve are very good.

Is it possible for all of these things to be true, and yet not enjoythat thing that you’re good at?

What if, this thing that you’re good at, but don’t enjoy is your sole source of income?

 What do you do?

4 Comments

Filed under "Head" issues, "Heart" issues, Life change

4 responses to “Is it possible……

  1. Dan

    Well, I suppose it is possible, and I suppose it is not all that uncommon. I think of friends I have known who were in jobs that they did not necessarily enjoy: accounting, insurance, truck driving. You just happen to be around a lot of people (teachers and people in ministry) who enjoy (love) what they do. I would imagine if you polled America — most people would say that they are in a job that they do not enjoy.

    As for the next part . . . I don’t know.

  2. Brenda

    I can relate to this on so many levels. Went to college for 5 years to be a band director, was good at it and hated it. Want to be in music ministry, but doors not opening. The only difference is that I’m not the primary bread provider and I got pregnant so I could quit teaching. (I’m pretty sure that’s not an option for you.) Now that my kids are older, I could get back into directing and be even better now that I have a greater understanding of kids having been a mom. However, the very thought of that gives me anxiety beyond measure.

    This is tough. You can look at it in two ways. One, maybe you need to look at it in that God gave you these abilities (that have been positively affirmed) and change your opinion and attitude towards what you do day in and day out, focusing on the good.

    Or, two, maybe God is using this discontent to stretch you and nudge you in a new direction and you need to take a leap of faith to actively pursue a new career.

    I can’t say what’s best for you, but I do empathize with your situation. Pray, pray, pray. As I type this, the song “Be Still and Know” keeps running through my head. I hope you find peace to this soon.

  3. When we get to our ripe old middle age, a complete career shift gets les and less possible, and I often think it is a mistake to get to near 40 and throw all your toys out of the cot and retrain in some new field. My suggestion is to to look around the marketplace and identify what side-ways shifts you could do – a bit of lateral thinking will reveal lots of options. By sideways shifts, I mean other work opportunities that are not what you do now, but “re-use” many of the skills you currently possess. Think outside the square. The second point I would raise, is that statisically, most people leave their bosses rather than their jobs. Are you sure that your unhappiness is due to the work itself, and not other factors, especially attitudes towards your managers.
    Jon

  4. YES! it’s not only possible, I think it’s very common. I am definitely right there with you…but seeing where I need to be going…where God is leading. All that I have done and all my experiences are beginning to come together and I see how it has been preparing me. I just finished reading “Chazown” by Craig Groeschel–if you get a chance, check it out. It’s a great guide and simple read that might just help where you are at…it is for me!

Leave a Reply

