What’s your lifestyle?

I few months ago I worked through the following statment, and after following my Dr.’s advice, realized it was, and sometimes still is, a statement of fact.

As I was reading through it again this morning, trying to jump start my motivation again, I recognized that this statement is vague enough that we could all apply it SOMEWHERE.  My brother in law just had a heart attack, and will have to stop his 7 pack a day habit.  I have another friend who is recovering from alcoholism, and doing really well.  Mine is overeating.

Substitute your “issue” for the word “food, and see how it fits your life.

“As it stands today, I prefer to continue living my current lifestyle, which leads to early death and the abandonment of my wife & family, rather than control the amount and frequency of my food intake, exercise, and feeling my fears.”

Well?

What do you need to change for you, your family, and your God?  Be honest!

7 Comments

Filed under "Head" issues, "Heart" issues, Life change, Uncategorized, Weight Loss

7 responses to “What’s your lifestyle?

  1. Beth

    I think mine would be pride. I refuse to ask for help, I also try to present a false front that everything is “perfect”. I think growing up with an abusive father and trying to hide the abuse taught me to hide any problems. I really need to work on that.

    Thanks for asking us that thought provoking question!!

  2. Brenda

    Mine would be shopping. That little “high” from buying something new, whether it be clothes or something for the house or something for the kids, is my issue. Food….shopping…..it is all gluttony and instant gratification.

  3. My perception of what God requires of me.

  4. Dan

    I agree with the plateau idea. Your body “gets used” to what you do to it. It adapts and adjusts constantly to our lifestyle: that is why the body can handle way too much alcohol, or years of smoking an unbelievable amount of cigarettes. It is the same principle that allows “ultra athletes” to bike, run, or swim miles and miles beyond what one would think is possible.

    I suggest switching things up a bit. Do some very light weights – exercising some different muscles: arms, chest, shoulders, back, etc. This will “shock” your body into a new metabolism and “jump start” the caloric burn into a new level. Again, very light weights, 10 – 12 reps, only 1 or 2 sets of each exercise. Do that a couple of days a week in combination with your treadmill workout and just watch the pounds disappear!! (sarcasm)

  5. Dan

    Ooops! I meant to put that previous comment under the weight loss from last week. Sorry, I’m new to this blog thing.

    As far as responding to this post – I refuse to answer on the grounds that it may challenge me to actually confront my issue and admit I have one. Ignorance is bliss, and I prefer to be an ostrich.

  6. Doug, thanks for posting that. I’ve been meaning to look it up so I could be reminded. That was a great tool for me too.

    An ostrich hides his head in the sand but always leaves his a** in the air for a whoopin’. So I guess that could mean if you face your fear, you save your a**. 🙂

  7. Love it Joni!! lol

    My list would be too long to fit on this post! 😉

Leave a Reply

