Update….

Per Beth’s request, here’s an update concerning my March 14th post, “In need of wise counsel……”

 I sent in a cd of me singing and playing (guitar and keys), and the church emailed me back saying that they had decided to go a different direction.

 A fairly obvious closed door, Praise God.

 I have to admit I’m a little sad, because the way I interpret this is, my resume is good enough, but I’m not talented enough.  Honestly, I didn’t believe that I had a real shot at it.  It was a very big church, but obviously my resume got me to step 2.

 I’m also fairly certain that I’m due for a career change, but I don’t feel as if I’m qualified for anything else.  I don’t really know if I’m good at anything else.  I actually liked working retail, but not the 70 hour weeks.

 Anybody looking to hire a fairly smart, almost 40 year old?

yeah right…..

1 Comment

Filed under "Heart" issues, Church stuff

One response to “Update….

  1. “I have to admit I’m a little sad, because the way I interpret this is, my resume is good enough, but I’m not talented enough.”

    Or for whatever reason, that isn’t the place God wants your family right now. If I remember, you talked about the uncertainty you felt about this job and how you guys had settled into the Orchard. Your wife enjoys it there and your children love the Sunday school. I guess sometimes the plans God has for us don’t always include just us. And it appears to me that God has your family at Orchard Valley for this season.
    I know this is something you’ve wanted for a long time and I also know how unhappy you are at your job. I’m sure that the thought of going back to it for another year next fall will be something just short of dreadful. I don’t know what God’s doing in your life right now, Doug, but I know that He does and I know that his timing is perfect.
    Maybe going back to retail, even perhaps on a part-time basis for the summer, is part of the answer. I can’t imagine every one of those jobs involves a 70-hour work week. I am all too familiar with career dissatisfaction. I’ve spent a lot of my life feeling like I hadn’t found my exact niche or hating my job because it isn’t what I wanted to do or where I felt I belonged. But I think, also, that life involves so much more than just what we get up and do everyday and how much we like or don’t like it.
    I don’t know what God is doing in you or your family’s lives right now but I know that He does. And even though it’s extremely hard not to just throw up your hands and go what the (????) or just be overcome with frustration or sadness or whatever else it is you’re feeling. God knows that, too, and He loves you.

    I remember growing up as a kid and the buzz word was “God loves you and He has a wonderful plan for your life…” The funny thing is I think that still rings true. We just wish God would let us in on it. Right???
    Proverbs 3:5-6 says “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and don’t lean on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will direct your path.”

    You said it yourself, “a fairly obvious closed door, Praise God.” That was probably said at least partly tongue in cheek but hey, praise God anyhow. Your disappointment is real and I don’t want to diminish your feelings. I’m just saying trust God and be patient (no matter how long it takes). I believe God knows what He’s doing. And I don’t think He’s through with you yet, my brother.

Leave a Reply

