What’s going on?!!

I’m struggling today.

I received an email last night from a H.S. buddy with the news that another friend of mine from H.S. was missing.  Included in the email was a link to a newspaper article about an apparent suicide attempt, when a car was found running and abandoned on a local Mississippi River bridge.  I called my dad this morning and he heard that the identity of my friend was confirmed.  I don’t think that they’ve found his body yet, but I guess it was his car on the bridge.

I recieved another email last week from the same H.S. friend letting me know of another classmate who has been diagnosed with an aggressive form of bone cancer.

Last year, one of my best friends from H.S. died after a 10+ year struggle with cancer.

About a month ago, the wife of a college roommate was diagnosed with an aggressive form of cancer.

I’m not sure what to do with this.  3 out of 4 of these folks, I have lost touch with, just due to the years living away from where I grew up.  They had all moved away too, as far as I know.  I have not attended any class reunions, primarily due to the shame that I feel about being so horribly overweight.

I just don’t know what to do.  I’m a fixer, a doer, a task finisher, and I can’t do anything.  It just doesn’t seem fair.  I remember these H.S. friends as vibrant, active people full of life, talented.  And now they are sick or gone.

Right now I feel helpless…….

1 Comment

Filed under "Head" issues, "Heart" issues, Life change

One response to “What’s going on?!!

  1. Sorry to hear about the losses and how you’re feeling.

    God, bless my brother in his journey and comfort him in his helplessness. Remind Doug of your presence, your plans, and your understanding. Help him to trust you above and beyond what he can understand.

Leave a Reply

