Hindsight…..ARGHHH!!!!

Hebrews 12:1-3 (NIV)

1 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. 2 Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. 3 Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

I did a keyword search on “race” this morning (biblegateway.net) and this scripture was one that popped up.  It was a scripture that helped me about a year ago make a very difficult decision for my family, but as I read it today and look back in hindsight, is holds something different.  In a nutshell, “the sin” it talks about in verse 1 was someone elses last year.  As I read it today, after a year of personal growth, I can look back and see that it was my sin, or at least my hardened heart.  I could say the words last year, but I didn’t believe them.

I’d say over that past month, I’ve actually been fixing my eyes on Christ, and have begun to experience more joy, more success, a better attitude, weight loss, better parenting, more patience, etc.

One of my favorite worship songs has always been “I Fix My Eyes On You” by Tommy Walker.  We tried it a couple of times at my old church, and each time it just sort of laid there, and didn’t garner much positive response, despite my LOVING it.  Again in hindsight, I think that God has had that song just for me.  It wasn’t meant for corporate worship, it was for Him and me alone.

Thank You Father!

2 Comments

Filed under "Head" issues, "Heart" issues, Life change

2 responses to “Hindsight…..ARGHHH!!!!

  1. It is really a joy to fix our eyes on Christ. It has a way of easing our burdens and fixing our path.

  2. “I’d say over that past month, I’ve actually been fixing my eyes on Christ, and have begun to experience more joy, more success, a better attitude, weight loss, better parenting, more patience, etc.”

    Isn’t it amazing how when we stop trying so hard and surrender every part of our life to God how it becomes less about what we are “doing” to achieve the things that are important to us and more about living to honor Him! Praise God!

    Thanks for the Link!

Leave a Reply

