It’s OK to groan

Romans 8:26-27

26 In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express. 27 And he who searches our
hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints in accordance with God’s will.

I often times don’t know what to pray for. I feel the need, but I can’t seem to find the words. This passage seems to give me the freedom to just “be” in prayer and let the Spirit “intercede” for me.
I think I also need to remember this when my kids pray. Sometimes it just feels like silliness as they pray for their stuffed animals, or their pants, or whatever. The fact that they’re doing it and learning
must pleast the heart of God, and then He in turn must bless that in some way.

2 Comments

Filed under "Head" issues, Life change, Uncategorized

2 responses to “It’s OK to groan

  1. Beth

    I sometimes forget to let the kids be kids and not perfect pray-ers. I think God sometimes get a chuckle with those adorable prayers for their blankets. I also think He knows they are showing thanks for those things they pray for. God can read and decipher their hearts and prayers.

  2. Speaking of kids’ prayers, JD (4)announced today he would like to pray for the kids in his “health club class”. Specifically another little boy named J.B. He likes that their names are so close! Quite a jump from thanking God for butts.

Leave a Reply

