Freedom!!

Romans 8:12-17

 12 Therefore, brothers, we have an obligation—but it is not to the sinful nature, to live according to it. 13 For if you live according to the sinful nature, you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live, 14 because those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God. 15 For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship.[g] And by him we cry, “Abba,[h] Father.” 16 The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children. 17 Now if we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory.

WOW!!!

There is a lot of freedom for me in this passage.  I need to put the “misdeeds” of my body to death “by the Spirit”, not by myself.  I have help!  So when I’m confronted with, oh let’s say, a table full of cookies and cakes, and other things, I don’t have to make the decision by myself.

I don’t have to be afraid of making a mistake, because the Spirit given to me does not make me a “slave” to fear, but through that Spirit I’m adopted as on of God’s children.  I am an “heir of God and co-heir with Christ”.

 How cool is that?!!!!!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Freedom!!

  1. Great reminder, Doug. I love that we “did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear”. What a relief.

  2. i love that passage…and thanks for the comment…(you and i think the same about prep)

Leave a Reply

