Temptation

1 Cor. 10:13

13  No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.

I found out why the snacks were in the school lounge yesterday.  It’s some sort of special week to thank someone.  To acknowledge the hard work that they have done.  There are snacks and cakes and cookies and stuff in every lounge area this week.

So far I’ve avoided it.  I made it yesterday out of one building unscathed, and so far today am standing firm, but I have to be careful, not to get to proud and think that I can do it on my own.  I need to keep looking for “a way out” so that I can stand up under it”.

Dear God, deliver me from temptation and show me the way around it.  I pray to keep my eyes on you.  In Your name I pray, amen.

 2nd day in the gym today too…….

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Temptation

  1. It’s easy for me to get into a mindset of fleeing the temptation and leaving it at that. The Hewbrew writer reminds me to not only “throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles us”, but then takes it further…

    “Run the race,” he says and “fix your eyes on Jesus, the author and perfector of our faith, who for the joy set before him, endured the cross, despising its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”

    Fix your eyes, brother. Praise God for answering my prayers about this yesterday.

  2. hey thanks…i saw that article on churchmarketingsucks too…(maybe marketing is the thing to talk about right now!)

  3. I’m so proud of you Doug. Especially for continuing to have your devotion time in addition to going to the gym. You are doing really well in avoiding temptation. I will ask God to give you twice the benefit for every effort you make! You are a good leader for our family.

  4. Keep it brother! I need to get back there too – you may inspire me…..

    “God – please free Doug from the agreements that he has made about himself. Provide him with strength to tackle this new lifestyle and mindset with a reckless abandonment for your glory! – Amen”

  5. madaline p.

    what a great reminder, doug. I too am putting my struggle with food into the hands of God right now. Do you think if I ask Him for bread He’ll give me a stone because I asked Him to help me drop some pounds?? Mmmmmm, stones, the newest addition to the low-carb craze.
    No, seriously — props to God for giving us that “way out”!!!

  6. We haven’t heard from you out here in a while, Doug. As scary as this may be, what’s going on inside that head of yours?

    I pray you’re remaining faithful to your goals and honoring Christ through all of it.

Leave a Reply

