Romans 8:5-8 (NLT)

 5 Those who are dominated by the sinful nature think about sinful things, but those who are controlled by the Holy Spirit think about things that please the Spirit. 6 So letting your sinful nature control your mind leads to death. But letting the Spirit control your mind leads to life and peace. 7 For the sinful nature is always hostile to God. It never did obey God’s laws, and it never will. 8 That’s why those who are still under the control of their sinful nature can never please God.

 Father, I want to please You.  I don’t want to give in to my sinful over-eating any more.  I pray that Your spirit will guide me, and give me the strength to make correct decisions.  I pray that with Your help I can make the lifestyle changes needed to lead a happy and healthy life with Joni and the kids.

I pray for those that you’ve placed in my life as accountability, that they would have the freedom to speak the hard truth in love to me, and that I would received it in love and not defensiveness.

I pray that through this period in my life, as I change both on the inside and on the outside, that You would be glorified.  I want to use this as a testimony to Your power, love, mercy and grace.  I want You to get all of the credit, because I can’t do it on my own, that’s very apparent.

I love you Father, and with Your help, I will overcome this obstacle.  In Your name I pray, Amen.

4 Comments

Filed under "Heart" issues, Life change

4 responses to “Romans 8:5-8 (NLT)

  1. Wow. “for the sinful nature is always hostile to God. It never did obey God’s laws and it never will” That’s something to ponder. It blows the roof off of the “well, I’m not that bad am I?”. I guess the thing to focus on is that having accepted Jesus as savior and Lord, to allow the Spirit we have been given to actually do his job: counselor, comforter, teacher, reminder. http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=John%2014:25-27;&version=51;

  2. I’m praying with you too. I know God will help you through this and I can wait to see you come through this with his help. Rock on.

  3. “Can’t wait” to see you come through this! (stupid typing skills . . .)

  4. Pam Wheeler

    Food is my drug of choice, used primarily to fill a hole in my spirit that is obviously God-sized, but easier filled with SaraLee. I know the struggle and I know there is victory. We have this deal at our church – 12 step recovery program that is Christ Centered. It is kind of like spiritual chiropractic where you get to the root of the problem instead of just dealing with the symptoms. It has been a tremendous blessing in Rob’s and my lives individually and together. If you get a chance, you can visit their website. Just google Celebrate Recovery if you’ve not heard of it before. It is a ministry of Saddleback Church in California.
    You have the power to overcome anything – and not because you are such a groovy guy – but because you are a child of God and can claim His unending power.

Leave a Reply

