It can’t hurt to ask…..

Matthew 7:7-11 (The Message)

7-11“Don’t bargain with God. Be direct. Ask for what you need. This isn’t a cat-and-mouse, hide-and-seek game we’re in. If your child asks for bread, do you trick him with sawdust? If he asks for fish, do you scare him with a live snake on his plate? As bad as you are, you wouldn’t think of such a thing. You’re at least decent to your own children. So don’t you think the God who conceived you in love will be even better?

Father, I pray for strength; to make good choices when it comes to the food that I eat.  Help me to eat creatively; to not get stuck in a rut of eating the same food day in & day out, until I’m frustrated and give up.  Motivate me to “move” in some way; to exercise, to get more fit, even if it’s to just get tasks done around the house.  I pray that through all of this effort, I will be a good role model for my family so that they won’t fall into the same level of “disrepair”.

Father I pray that you’ll deliver my family from our financial struggles. Please show us the errors in our thinking and the habits of our spending.  Please give us some freedom, to allow us to take a breath.  I pray for a spirit of generosity, to think of others needs, and then to have the freedom to help.  I pray for us to have the ability and wisdom to look at our finances in a way that is not worrisome, but God glorifying.  I pray that we can have the freedom to get our vehicles repaired without having to use credit cards.  I pray that with Your help we can develop an appropriate savings account, for times of need for both us and others.  I pray for us to have the money to join the health club, so that we can actively and without excuse pursue physical health.

I can not do these things under my own power Lord.  I submit them to you and humbly ask for Your will to be done.  In Jesus Name, Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under "Head" issues, "Heart" issues

Leave a Reply

