Struggling today…….

………with a number of things.

First, because I’m struggling, I feel famished!!! Which is probably one reason why I’m severly overweight. When I’m upset I eat. I’m fighting it off now, by blogging about it. We’ll see how it works.

Which leads me to my second struggle……..

There is a great new health club that is 5 minutes from our house, they are currently offering a great deal if you sign up before the end of January. However, we don’t have the cash to do it, and neither one of us really wants to go into more debt by using our credit card.

There are some great things about joining. They offer 2 hours of free child care while you’re working out. That is a great thing for my wife. She can drop our oldest of at school, head to the gym with the other 2, work out, and then pick our oldest up on the way home. Plus they have a private womens workout area which is very appealing to my wife. Great equipment, it’s a great place.

For me, I’m hoping that the financial investment will motivate me. I’m always one for getting my moneys worth. When I golf, I try to swing as many times as I can. It seems silly to not see the entire course, after you’ve shelled out all that money.

I also feel like this is a bit of an investment into myself. I need to be healthier, and this seems like this removes some excuses from my arsenal.

But then again, debt is bad.

1 Cor. 6: 19-20 (NIV)

19 Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body.

Contextually, this verse comes from the writer speaking of sexual immorality, but how less immoral is it for me to allow myself to get into this poor level of physical conditioning? I don’t know…… Is it worth the debt? Should we wait on the Lord for a blessing? Should we wait until we have the money, and spend much more over the long haul?

1 Comment

Filed under "Head" issues, "Heart" issues

One response to “Struggling today…….

  1. But it sounds to me like the “debt” you would incur is a serious investment in your future…Not all debt is bad. Frivilous credit card spending is bad. You own two houses. You are indebted to one or more banks there but they are an investment which will reap some kind of reward. At some point, the necessity of purchasing a car also caused you to go into debt. Yes, it’s a pain to make that car payment but it was necessary if you wanted to go to work and other places.
    I think you have to weigh it out (no pun intended). Of course I don’t know how much the health club memberships cost but try to look at it as an investment in yours and Joni’s, not to mention the children’s, futures.

Leave a Reply

