Jesus Loves Me

Luke 12: 6-7 (The Message)

6-7″What’s the price of two or three pet canaries? Some loose change, right? But God never overlooks a single one. And he pays even greater attention to you, down to the last detail—even numbering the hairs on your head! So don’t be intimidated by all this bully talk. You’re worth more than a million canaries.

God has numbered the hairs on my head………

I’m worth more than a million canaries………

I’m not sure why, but I think at the very core of me, this is my struggle. I have a difficult time recognizing that God feels this way about me. That he loves me so much that he has numbered the hairs on my head.

I feel as if I’ve lost so many opportunities in life, so much joy, because someone else thought I wasn’t good enough. They may not have actually said those words (that I can remember), but through their actions or decisions, that’s what I felt. Whether it was the H.S. baseball & basketball coach, other trombone players in college, and even past church leadership positions. I was good enough to lead as a volunteer, but not good enough to be staff. Again, never said, but through my twisted sense of self-worth (or lack thereof) it was felt.

It makes more sense to me now, why I could never sing, or even listen to this song, without crying.

If I Could Look Through Your Eyes – Greg Ferguson

If I could look through Your eyes,
I’d see there’s no way to impress You, and I wouldn’t even try.
I’d stop trying to prove I’m worthy, and I’d take off the disguise…
if I could look through Your eyes.

And I would see that I’m precious,
and I would know that I’m prized.
I’d know Your love never changes…
if I could look through Your eyes.

If I saw my value to You,
I’d see Your love for me remains despite the foolish things I do,
And I’d see Your love for what it is, unshakeable and true…
if I saw my value to You.

I wanna see what You see.
I wanna recognize the treasured prize You say You see in me.
I wanna give up trying to earn the love You’re offering for free.
I wanna see what You see.

And I would see that I’m precious,
and I would know that I’m prized.
I’d know Your love never changes…
if I could look through Your eyes.

Lord, help me look through your eyes.

Father, help me to remember that Your opinion of me is all that matters. Help me to remember that You love me enough to number the hairs on my head. I pray that I will be constantly reminded of Your love for me, and not measure myself against the world. Lord help me look at myself through Your eyes, to recognize that I AM precious. You died for me, because You love me. No greater love than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. You are my friend Father and I love You. In Jesus name, Amen.

2 Comments

Filed under "Head" issues, "Heart" issues

2 responses to “Jesus Loves Me

  1. Amen indeed. I’m very proud of you too.

Leave a Reply

