My children and me

I arrived home right after work last week.  It was the first time in a couple of weeks that I came “right home”.  I’ve been spending most of my free time at our townhouse.  It was also the first time in a few days, that I’d seen my kids, literally.  They aren’t yet awake when I leave, and they have already been in bed when I get home.

I walked into the kitchen, and as I took off my coat my 5 year old entered.  I said “Hi Maddie!”, excited to see her for the first time in a few days.  She ignored me.  As only an overbearing father can do, I said it again a bit louder, and she begrugdingly said hi, while continuing to show her mother, the newest artwork she’d created.

I walked into the living room to take off my shoes, and there was my 3 year old.  I said “Hi J.D.!!”.  He ignored me and left the room.  Of course, I couldn’t let it go.  I chased him down, and forced him to be happy to see me.

My 2 1/2 year old, was still napping so I went in to wake her up.  Her first words when she saw me were, “Where’s mommy?”.  I told her that she was in the kitchen, and she toddled off to ask for a drink.

I can’t begin to tell you the flood of emotions that I experienced in just a few short minutes.  It went from joy (I finally get to see my kids), to anger (when they ignored me), to deep sadness at the thought that they didn’t seem to miss me at all.

They of course eventually warmed up to me and we had a fun evening wrestling around, reading books, and generally being a family.

And then it hit me………

Is this how God feels when I “ignore” him, because if I’m truly honest, that’s pretty much what I do.  Now don’t get me wrong, I throw prayers His way everyday, and often.  But those prayers would have to be classified as primarily selfish in nature.  I don’t often enough sit down just to give praise and adoration to Him;  just to thank him for all that he’s provided, especially at this time of year.

Thank God that His mercies are new each morning!!!

1 Comment

Filed under Home Remodeling, Kids

One response to “My children and me

  1. Do-u-u-u-u-u-u-u-u-g! Where are you? I see you in my house but you don’t write, you don’t call! Please write something!!!!! Come ba-a-a-a-a-a-ck!

Leave a Reply

